Assessing students in Edmodo

After a several years of not using the platform, I recently revisited Edmodo and used the quiz creator to create an assessment for the first time. Check out my video to hear more about how my experience went!

The assessment I created in this video is a lower level assessment because it has students complete the lyrics without much higher level thinking. Because of this, it does not pass all of my expectations in my assessment checklist, but it does pass my first and fourth expectation. I see value in using this assessment as in introduction to Reconstitution because I believe it can get students thinking about the topic.

Update: I’ve provided an additional video showing my questions up close while I demonstrate the rap video students will use to complete the assessment. Clicking the title of the video (in the top left) will open it in YouTube if you would like to zoom in further.

Edmodo Quiz Up Close

I see a lot of value in the Edmodo Quiz creator. Here are some of the things I like the most:

  • Immediate feedback – Students can see how they did as soon as they hit submit. This instant feedback is great for students and teachers. On the teacher side of things, data is broken down by student and by question for review.
  • Versatility – Questions can be made fill in the blank, multiple choice, matching, short answer, and more. While the quiz I created was all fill in the blank, I like the ability to create deeper level thinking questions with the short answer option.
  • Intuition – Student answers are accepted if they are typed in upper or lower case. This is more intuitive than some quiz creators I have seen. While I would like more time to test how intuitive this quiz creator is, I like what I see so far.

Nothing is perfect, and there are some things I would like to change about the Edmodo quiz creator. I would like the option to have more than one question on a page. For my assessment example, I used the same video for all of my questions and it was frustrating that the video has to be restarted for each question. All in all, I would recommend the Edmodo quiz creator and would definitely use it with my students.

One thought on “Assessing students in Edmodo

  1. Pingback: CEP 813 Reflection – Steve's Teaching Blog!

Leave a comment