Back Again?! Assessment Checklist 4.0!

After further research, I have added a sixth and final question to my Assessment Checklist. Please view my updated checklist here. Changes have been made in blue to help distinguish my latest thinking.

The topic of my latest question is assessment bias. I ask, “Is the assessment free of bias?” Now, I will admit, I don’t know any teacher who would purposely create an assessment containing bias. However, everyone has hidden bias, whether we realize it or not, and this bias may rear its ugly head in places we may not think about, like assessment creation.

We teachers need to scrutinize our assessments to ensure that questions are not offensive and do not unfairly penalize students. Every student deserves the opportunity to be successful, and bias in assessment creation should never hold a student back from success.

One thought on “Back Again?! Assessment Checklist 4.0!

  1. Pingback: CEP 813 Reflection – Steve's Teaching Blog!

Leave a comment